

Resolution No. 72

Appointing a New Member from the South Bay to the Restoration Authority Independent Citizens Oversight Committee

Whereas, the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority ("Authority") was established by the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Act, California Government Code Section 66700 et seq. ("Act") as a regional entity to generate and allocate resources for the protection and enhancement of tidal wetlands and wildlife habitat in San Francisco Bay and along its shoreline; and

Whereas, in June of 2016, the San Francisco Bay Clean Water, Pollution Prevention and Habitat Restoration Measure ("Measure AA") passed with over a two-thirds majority in the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area; and

Whereas, Measure AA requires that the Authority appoint six members of the public to an Independent Oversight Committee ("Oversight Committee") that shall: (a) annually review the Authority's conformance with Measure AA; (b) review the Authority's audits and expenditure and financial reports; and (c) publish an annual report of its findings, which shall be posted on the Authority's website; and

Whereas, Measure AA further requires that the six members of the Oversight Committee shall include residents of the North Bay, East Bay, West Bay, and South Bay, as defined in Government Code 66703(a), who are experts in water quality, pollution reduction, habitat restoration, flood protection, improvement of public access to the Bay, or financing of these objectives; and

Whereas, on April 27, 2016, the Authority approved the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Independent Citizens Oversight Committee Procedural Document ("Procedural Document") and further amended the Procedural Document on February 10, 2017; and

Whereas, the Procedural Document details the process by which members will be selected to serve on the Oversight Committee and notes that the Oversight Committee should have at least one representative from each of the four aforementioned regions, and the two remaining Committee members should be from counties not already represented; and

Whereas, the member representing the South Bay resigned from the Oversight Committee in February 2020; and

Whereas, the South Bay is defined as Santa Clara County, the portion of Alameda County that is south of the southern boundary of the City of Hayward, and the portion of San Mateo county that is south of the northern boundary of Redwood City; and

Whereas, Alameda County and San Mateo County are already represented by other members of the Oversight Committee, and therefore the remaining the position should be filled by a resident of Santa Clara County; and

Whereas, Statements of Interest to fill this position were solicited, and one member was selected and recommended pursuant to the selection process in laid out in the Procedural Document; and

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Governing Board of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority hereby appoints Don Arnold, Santa Clara County, representing the South Bay to a term beginning on July 17, 2020 and ending on December 31, 2021.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Governing Board of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority at its meeting on July 17, 2020, by the following vote:

AYES: Governing Board Members

NOES: Governing Board Members

None

ABSENT: Governing Board Members

None

ABSTAIN: Governing Board Members

None

None

Docusigned by:

Dave Pine, Chair

I, Maggie Jenkins, Clerk of the Governing Board of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the Resolution adopted by the Governing Board of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority at its meeting of July 17, 2020, which Resolution is on file in the office of this regional governmental entity.

— Docusigned by:

Maggie Genkakh7/2020

__AE54FDE40396429...

Maggie Jenkins, Clerk